Code 9

The Halley DeVestern Band



by Tom Heinig and Halley DeVestern

Oooh they’re gonna getcha

They ain’t never gonna letcha

Just be, just be, just be

They is the shadow                                                             

That kills the loving sun                                                             

They wanna kill the real in you and me                                        

They see you in the forest

They see you in your bed

They know everything you ever done or said

Brothers and sisters

We gotta get together

Or separately they will hang us dead


Sanctuary!  By the power of your thumb

Just hit code 9, go deaf and dumb

Sanctuary!  Like a silent battle drum

Just hit code 9, and I will come

They got your number; Literally.

But you ain’t the contract you signed

They can make you wear the uniform

They can make you cross the picket line

But they can never make you change your mind

They can lead me to the slaughterhouse

And tell me everything is fine

But they will never make me change my mind



It ain’t your mama you been hidin’ from

You know they’re too big to fail

You ain’t got nothin’, Honey,  but they still want some

They want all the air, so you better exhale…

(keyboard solo; guitar solo; chorus out)